I try to avoid gluten as much as I can because I feel better if I don’t eat it, that’s why most of the recipes you can find at Simple Vegan Blog are gluten-free. We have a special category indeed.
In this guide I want to show you what kinds of flours you can use if you want to avoid gluten and how to make your own gluten-free flour blend to use instead wheat flour (or other kinds of gluten flours) or even instead others gluten-free flour blends, including store-bought.
According to Wikipedia, gluten is a protein composite found in wheat and related grains (including rye and barley). It gives elasticity to the dough, helping it rise and keep its shape and often gives the final product a chewy texture. It’s composed of two different proteins (gliadin and glutenin), which is conjoined with starch in the endosperm of various grass-related grains. The prolamin and glutelin from wheat (gliadin and glutenin) constitute about 80% of the protein contained in wheat fruit.
The consumption of oats is still being debated for the celiac population. Some authorities feel it’s not safe until more studies are done. Others feel it’s beneficial to include it in the celiac diet once the digestive system of the patient has stabilized. You should follow your doctor’s instructions.
Wheat flour is not all gluten protein. It’s part protein and part starches. That’s why you need to mix whole-grain flours (they use to be high in protein) with starches (they help make the flour mix hold together)….